This event has been postponed due to the temporary closing of the Newton Free Library. Please check back on the Green Newton website and enews for future rescheduling.

In Massachusetts, transportation produces more greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions than any other sector.  Join Green Newton on Monday, March 23 at 7pm in the Druker Auditorium of the Newton Free Library (330 Homer St., Newton) for a panel discussion of what can be done to help our region and our city move forward on green transportation and achieve our climate goals for GHG reductions.

 Speakers will cover the Transportation Climate Initiative (TCI), congestion pricing, and transit improvements. The program will focus on three areas for action: (1) drive less and improve public transportation (2) improve Newton’s infrastructure for biking and walking, and (3) make the transition to electric cars and transit.

Co-sponsored by Green Newton, Bike Newton, and 350 Mass/ Newton EV Task Force.


Eric BurassaEric Bourassa is the Director of the Transportation Department at the Metropolitan Area Planning Council (MAPC), which works on transportation issues with municipalities, the MBTA and the Massachusetts Department of Transportation.  During his 10 years with the MAPC, he has supported several initiatives, including the Green Line Extension to Somerville and Medford, the Hubway bike share system, and dedicated MBTA bus lanes.   

Anne LuskAnne Lusk has a PhD in Architecture/Environment and Behavior, and she is a research scientist teaching at Harvard’s T.H. Chan School of Public Health. She has worked on developing bicycle facilities for 38 years, and received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals for her designs of bicycling facilities.    


Anna VanderspekAnna Vanderspek is the Electric Vehicle Program Director at Green Energy Consumers Alliance and also runs their Drive Green program. 




Green Newton’s Annual Meeting will be held at 6:15 pm just ahead of this program on Transportation.  There will be a vote on the slate of nominees to serve on the Board of Directors for a three-year term.  The nominees are: Joana Canedo, Sunwoo Kahng, Ken Mallory, Jim Purdy, Andrew Reed, Mindy Sieber and Peter Smith.  Members of the community are welcome to join us.