GN Environmental Awards

Since 2004, Green Newton has been awarding the Annual Green Newton Environmental Awards to individuals, community groups, and local businesses in recognition of their work in striving for a better environment. Awardees are announced each year in May at the GN program at the Newton Free Library. Please contact [email protected] if you have a potential nominee recommendation or have questions.   2020 Not held 2019
  • Andy Gluck (Individual)
  • Newton Citizens Commission on Energy (Group)
  • Newton’s Public Buildings Department and Design Review Committee (City)
  • Ira Krepchin – Green Newton Board Member and Newsletter Editor (Green Newton Special Appreciation Award)
2018 2017 2016
  • Karen Bray – Newton Safe & Sound (Individual)
  • Jenny Horsburgh – Student, Newton North High School (Youth)
  • Friends of Austin Street (Group)
  • West Suburban YMCA (Business)
  • Alison Leary – Councilor, City of Newton (Individual)
  • Environmental Science Program of Newton (Group)
  • Power House Dynamics (Business)
  • At GN’s 25th Anniversary Celebration, our Louise Bruyn Environmental Leadership Awards were given to Newton City Councilor Deb Crossley and Brandeis Professor Eric Olson
  • Nathan Phillips – Professor of Earth and Environment at Boston University (Individual)
  • High Performance Building Coalition (Group)
  • Boston College (Business)
2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008
  • Dirk Detlefsen – Countryside Elementary School Teacher, 5th Grade (Individual)
  • Newton/San Juan del Sur Sister City Project (Group)
  • Chapman Construction & Design (Business)
2007 2006 2005 2004
  • David Tannozzini – Electrical Engineer, City of Newton (Individual)
  • GreenCAP (Group)
  • (Not established until 2005)